iMTQA Leadership


Byeongsang Oh, President
Joe Baumgarden, CEO
Patricia Lawson, Treasure
Wen Liu, Director
Albert Yeung, Honorary President
David Rosenthal: Honorary President      

Advisory Council:

The MTQA advisory council consists of four expert groups from Australia, Canada, China, Germany, Italy, Korea, Sweden, and USA: Medical Advisory committee members, Tai Chi and Qigong Advisory Committee, Science and Education Committee, and Friends of Tai Chi and Qigong Committee.  

(a) Medical Advisory Council members: Health professionals including medical doctors who assist with developing a clinical medicine educational program.
(b) Tai Chi and Qigong Advisory Council Members: Tai Chi and/or Qigong masters who participate in developing a core Medical Tai Chi and Qigong program and assessing the applicant’s Tai Chi and/or Qigong practical skills.
(c) Science and Education Council members: Academic researchers who are involved in Tai Chi and Qigong scholarly activities and provide up-to-date research on the use of Tai Chi and/or Qigong in medicine.
(d) Tai Chi/Qigong community representative: Individuals attending Tai Chi and Qigong class in their community or expressed interest in TQ activities who participated in process of developing the guidelines of MTQA especially from a consumer’s perspective. In addition, Public Safety officers were invited to oversee consumer protection.  

Medical Advisory Council  members

David Rosenthal, MD, Harvard Medical School (HMS), USA;
Albert Yeung, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital & HMS, USA;
Paul Lam, MBBS, Tai Chi for Health Institute, Australia;
Stephen Clarke, MD, PhD, Royal North Shore Hospital, SMS, Australia;
Nick Pavlakis, MBBS, PhD, Royal North Shore Hospital, SMS, Australia;
Carolyn Ee, MBBS, Grad Cert Med Acup, PhD, NICM, Western Sydney University, Australia;
Danforn Lim, MBBS, University of Technology Sydney, Australia;
Judith Lacey, MD, Head of Supportive Care, Lifehouse, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney, Australia;  
Mison Chun, MD, Department of Radiation Oncology, Ajou University School of Medicine, Suwon, Korea;
Whanseok Choi, MD, Department of Family Medicine, Seoul St. Mary’s Hospital, Catholic University of Korea;
Massimo Bonucci, MD, San Feliciano Hospital Rome, University of Chieti, Italy;
Hanne-Doris Lang, MD, Medical Center, Hamburg, Germany;
Richard Lee, MD, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH, USA;
Yulong Wei, MD, PhD in TCM, Executive Vice Director of Academic Committee of World Academic Society of Medical Qigong (WASMQ), Beijing University of Chinese Medicine, Beijing, China;
Michael R. Irwin, MD, Director, Mindful Awareness Research Center, Cousins Center for Psychoneuroimmunology, Semel Institute for Neuroscience,
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, CA, USA.  

Science and Education Council members

Linda Larkey, PhD, Arizona State University, USA;
Tish Knobf, PhD, RN, School of Nursing, Yale University, USA;
Pei-Shiun Chang, PhD, RN, Indiana University, USA;
Chris Zaslawski, PhD, University of Technology Sydney (UTS);
Byeongsang Oh, PhD, Royal North Shore Hospital, SMS, Australia;
Shuai Zheng, PhD, UTS Sydney;
Myeong Soo Lee, PhD, Korea Institute of Oriental Medicine, Korea;
Peiying Yang, The University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center, TX, USA;
QingChuan Hu, PhD candidate, Beijing University of Chinese Medicine Beijing, China; 
XinFeng Guo MD, M.P.H., PhD. Guangdong Provincial Hospital of Chinese Medicine, The Second Medical College of Guangzhou University of Chinese Medicine, China.  

Tai Chi Qigong Advisory Councile Members

Penelope J. Klein, PT, EdD, D’Youville College, Buffalo, NY, USA;
Linda Larkey, PhD, Arizona State University, Phoenix, AZ, USA;
Paul Lam, MD, Tai Chi Master, Tai Chi for Health Institute, NSW, Australia;
Peter Payne, Master Instructor, Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth College, USA;
George Picard, Master Instructor Village of Healing and Wellness, Canada,
Warwick Poon, Qigong Adept, TCM practitioner, Melbourne, VIC, Australia;
Susan Froehlich, LAc, Mosier, OR, USA;
Ramel Rones, Master Instructor, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, USA;
Lee Chan, Grand Master, Honorary Chairman of Korea Tai Chi Chuan Association, Seoul, Korea;
Joseph Cheung, Tai Chi and Qigong Master, Director of Physical Arts, New York College of Health Professions, New York, USA;
Hon Lee, Tai Chi Master, L,Ac, OMD, Hendon, VA. USA;
Chi-hsiuD.Weng, Ph.D. Dean, College of Tai Chi, University of East-West Medicine, Sunnyvale, CA, USA.  

Tai Chi/Qigong community representative

Paul Cheah, Tai chi and Qigong instructor, Eastwood Tai Chi Club, Sydney, Australia;
Chris Findlater, Tai chi and Qigong practitioner, Eastwood Tai Chi Club, Sydney, Australia;
Shane Kiely, Tai Chi and Qigong practitioner, University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, Australia;  
Edwin Roy Franklin, Eastwood Tai Chi Club, Sydney, NSW, Australia;
Yunho Choi, Lee Chan Tai Chi Chuan, Seoul, Korea;
Andy Huang, OMD, LAc, Chair of Public Safety Commission, Cupertino, CA, USA